About the Pittsford Driver Education Program
The Pittsford Central School District is planning on offering a modified Driver Education Program following NYS Education Department of Traffic Safety guidelines. Please check this website for updates on the registration process. Contact the Driver Education Coordinator, Tom Welsher 267-3439 with any questions. Thank you for your patience.
The philosophy of Pittsford Central Schools Driver Education Program is to provide all current Pittsford students with a quality program which follows the NYS Education Department of Traffic Safety. The program provides a high level of customer satisfaction by providing program options, flexible schedules and responsiveness to individual student needs.
Driver Education Requirements
Spring 2022 Hybrid Driver Education Program Details.
(Fall 2021 program details can be found in the Fall Program Details Document)
Registration for the spring 2022 program is currently FULL (please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you would like your student added to the waitlist.
The spring program will start on Saturday January 28 and will run through June 19 (actual start and end dates vary and are session dependent).
**Changes may be made based on NYSDTSE requirements or restrictions.**
Registration in classes offered is subject to the availability of qualified instructors. Pittsford Central Schools will make every effort to accommodate all current Pittsford students who have enrolled. Students must be 16, current Pittsford students and have a permit by the first driving class. Please be aware that you should schedule an appointment to take your Learner's Permit as soon as possible, if you haven't already done so. There may be a long wait for Learner's Permit tests at this time.
Please make your decision when signing up for a Winter/Spring/Summer Semester program that fits your schedule. If you will be involved with sports, work, vacations or a school play that will interfere with your Driver Education schedule and you are unable to successfully complete the program, it may be wise to postpone this course until such conflicts are resolved.
Students are required by the State of New York to participate in a 48-hour course of instruction. This includes 24 hours of classroom instruction (theory) and 24 hours of driving and observation (in car practice). The State will not issue the MV-285 Certification of Completion unless the 48 hours have been completed. This program teaches students proper techniques, laws, and responsibilities pertaining to driving in New York State. It also provides the mandated 5-hour NYS Pre-licensing certification. The Certificate of Completion allows a 17 year old to obtain his/her senior license and drive at night. It also provides a certificate to your insurance company, which should provide you with a discount.
Students must pass the theory and driver portions of the course with a 65% or better in order to receive a course completion certificate (MV-2850).
Students are required to take all theory classes, complete all assignments and driving classes. Any absence must be made up. Failure to attend sessions will result in the student not earning the MV-285 Completion Certificate of Completion or being dropped for the program with NO REFUND.
Theory Classes - The program includes 24 hours of instruction in a hybrid format. Students will attend online lectures (1.5 hours each) through Zoom once a week on Sundays or Wednesdays. Students will also attend one, in-person class a week (1.5 hours each) on either Monday or Tuesday.
A student may miss one theory class during the course with no charge. Additional absences after that will be made up at the end of the program at rate of $25 per class. If a student misses a third class, he/she will not be eligible to receive the Certificate of Completion (MV-2850). All missed classes must be made up.
Students are encouraged to contact the program coordinator and their instructor as soon as they know they will be absent for a scheduled theory class. Theory is taught on multiple nights of the week. It may be possible to have a student join a different class, but this can only be done at the discretion of the instructor/program coordinator.
**Options subject to change based on registration.
Mon. 7:00-8:30 PM Sutherland HS AND Sun. 7:00-8:30 PM Zoom.
First Session 1/31
Tues. 5:30-7:00 PM Mendon HS AND Sun. 5:30-7:00 PM Zoom.
First Session 2/1
Tues. 7:00-8:30 PM Mendon HS AND Wed. 7:00-8:30 PM Zoom.
First Session 2/1
Driving Classes - For the behind the wheel driving portion, students must complete 24 hours of driving/observation. (16 sessions at 1.5 hours each) A student may miss and make up two driving sessions during the course. Any absence will be made up at a rate of $25 per session. Students are encouraged to contact the program coordinator as soon as they know they will be absent for a scheduled driving class. If more than two driving classes are missed, we may not be able to accommodate your needs and you will not be able to receive certification.
Driving Options- (Classes will start and end at either MHS Main Entrance or SHS Main Entrance)
**Options subject to change based on registration and driving instructor discretion.
Monday Sessions: First session January 31; last session June 6
Sutherland 3:30-5:00 PM
Tuesday Sessions: First session February 1; last session June 7
Mendon 3:30-5:00 PM
Wednesday Sessions: First session February 2; last session June 8
Sutherland 3:30-5:00 PM
Thursday Sessions: First session February 3; last session June 9
Mendon 3:30-5:00 PM
Saturday Sessions: First session January 29; last session June 18
Mendon: 7-8:30 AM, 8:30-10 AM, 10-11:30 AM
Sutherland 7-8:30 AM, 8:30-10 AM, 10-11:30 AM
Sunday Sessions: First session January 30; Last session June 19
Mendon 8:30-10 AM, 10-11:30 AM, 11:30-1 PM
Sutherland 8:30-10 AM, 10-11:30 AM, 11:30-1PM
Cost: The Fall program will be offered at the standard Pittsford Driver Education Price of $580. This amount may be paid through the My School Bucks MSB or checks can be mailed to the Treasurer at 75 Barker Road Admin. Wing, Pittsford, NY 14534. Make check payments out to Pittsford Driver Education and please put your student’s name in the memo. Payment must be made by December 23, 2021 or you could lose your spot in the program.
Pittsford Driver Education will be using FamilyID for registration.
Registration for the Spring program is currently FULL.
Please contact email@example.com if you would like your student added to the waitlist.
Summer 2022 Program Details will be avialable in March.
firstname.lastname@example.org. Program seats are limited.
Click FamilyID Registration link to register.