Return to Headlines

Pittsford High School Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Congratulations to the 14 Pittsford high school students named 2022 National Merit Scholarships Finalists!

Pittsford Mendon seniors Wimeth Dissanayake, Taylor Klinsky, Jenny Li, Sean Li and Joyce Shi; and Pittsford Sutherland seniors Merilyn Arikkat, Muneeb Aslam, Savannah Bornheim, Jackson Ciocca, Amy Feng, Zacchary Moore, Charlotte Raith, Alan Raskin, and Melis Sahin, were selected as 14 of the 15,000 finalists narrowed down from over 1.5 million entrants.

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. Approximately 1.5 million high school students enter the program each year by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

Of the 1.5 million entrants, about 15,000 eventually advance to “finalist” standing. Of them, 7,500 finalists will be ultimately selected as National Merit Scholarship award winners. All winners of Merit Scholarship awards (Merit Scholar® designees) are chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments.

Congratulations to our 14 National Merit Scholarship finalists!