Return to Headlines

Pittsford CSD Seniors Named 2022 US Presidential Scholar Semifinalists

Joyce Shi, a senior at Mendon High School, and Amy Feng, a senior at Sutherland High School, have been selected as semifinalists for the 2022 US Presidential Scholars competition. They are two of 5,000 students who were initially identified out of the 3.7 million graduating seniors in the 2021-2022 school year, which was further narrowed down to the 620 semifinalists.

The United States Presidential Scholars program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 161 students are named U.S. Presidential Scholars, which is one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students. The Scholars represent excellence in education and the promise of greatness in young people.