Return to Headlines

Pittsford Students Inducted into National Technical Honor Society

Eleven students from Mendon and Sutherland High Schools will be inducted into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) through Eastern Monroe Career Center (EMCC) at a ceremony on May 24.

Congratulations to:

  • Nestor Ical Tzul (Gr. 12, SHS)
  • Kate Liavanava (Gr. 11, SHS)
  • Sophia Maloney (Gr. 11, SHS)
  • Kyle Moore (Gr. 11, MHS)
  • Lucia Ricos-Garcia (Gr. 12, SHS)
  • Damien Schumacher (Gr. 12, MHS)
  • Jesse Schwartz (Gr. 12, SHS)
  • Carmine Sellers (Gr. 11, MHS)
  • Nicole Sylvestri (Gr. 12, SHS)
  • Elijah Willard (Gr. 11, MHS)
  • Jenny Zhao (Gr. 12, MHS)

NTHS honors, recognizes, and empowers students in career and technical education at a time where there is a growing demand to fill jobs requiring technical training. To be eligible, students must be enrolled in basic or advanced courses and achieve at least a 90% grade point average, 95% attendance rate, and received a teacher recommendation for demonstration of leadership and citizenship (responsibility, positive attitude, community service).

EMCC combines real-life learning experiences and academic skills to offer a variety of Career and Technical Education programs to local high school students, including programs such as CISCO networking, construction trades, childcare professions, new vision medical careers, criminal justice, cosmetology, culinary arts, professional health careers, and emergency services.