Return to Headlines

Ten PCSD Students Named 2019 National Merit Scholars

Ten Pittsford Central School District students have been named National Merit Scholarship Program winners. They were chosen from more than 15,000 finalists, including Mendon High School students Connie Chen and Gabriella Commisso who were among the fewer than 1% of the nation’s high school seniors to advance to the finalist level.

PCSD 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program Winners

Pittsford Mendon High School

  • Livia Betti
  • Katherine Krowl
  • Anna Pogharian
  • Margaret Rudnick
  • Jeremy Tabechian

Pittsford Sutherland High School

  • Yawen Ding
  • Raymond Feng
  • Mackenzie Herron    
  • Morgan McGrath
  • Alan Tu

The 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program winners were among an initial pool of 1.6 million U.S. students who took the PSAT/NMSQT, a qualifying test, to compete for approximately 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.

The National Merit Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors who appraised information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools, including academic records and the difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; standardized test scores; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; student essays; and a recommendation written by a high school official.