PCSD Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Thirteen Pittsford Central School District students have been named 2019 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. They were among 57 students to be named semifinalists in the Greater Rochester area, and among 16,000 students in the U.S. chosen to compete for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.

The semifinalists were chosen from an initial pool of 1.6 million U.S. students who took last year’s PSAT/NMSQT, a qualifying test. This year’s semifinalists scored in the top 1 percent nationally on the exam and will be considered for National Merit Scholarships.

Eighteen PCSD students were named Commended Students. While these students are not eligible for National Merit Scholarships, they scored in the top 3% of the PSAT exam and were recognized for their outstanding academic promise.

Winners of National Merit Scholarships will be named in the spring of 2019.


PCSD National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

 Mendon High School

  • Livia Betti
  • Connie Chen
  • Gabriella Commisso
  • Katherine Krowl
  • Anna Pogharian
  • Margaret Rudnick
  • Jeremy Tabechian

 Sutherland High School

  • Yawen Ding
  • Raymond Feng
  • Mackenzie Herron
  • Morgan McGrath
  • Sang Baek Na
  • Alan Tu


Commended Students

Mendon High School

  • Allison Caruso
  • Jack DiGiovanni
  • Reith Mantena
  • William Orzell
  • Isabelle Reynolds
  • Manvi Singh
  • Alexander Trawick
  • Connor Krapf

Sutherland High School

  • Grace Bennett
  • Michael Chen
  • Matthew Cufari
  • Katherine Glance
  • Scott Hendee
  • Anna Kurth
  • Riley Lusk
  • Nilesh Rao
  • Brianna Raskin